Monday, April 18, 2011 | 4:21 PM
Sometimes when I’m using Gmail on my phone, I delete a message by mistake or label it incorrectly. Sure I can fish the message out of my Trash or remove the label and apply the correct one, but that takes several steps. Even just a few seconds is usually enough time to catch those annoying mistakes.
Now when you use the Gmail mobile web app, you’ll have a small window of opportunity to undo four key actions: archive, delete, add or remove a label, or move a message/conversation.
When you take one of these actions, Gmail displays a yellow bar that recaps what you just did and allows you to undo it:
This bar stays in position even if you move to another screen (e.g. moving to ‘Menu’ from ‘Inbox’). If you don’t happen to catch your mistake in time, not to worry: all four actions can still be undone through other means (e.g. you can move a message from Trash back into your Inbox).
Try it out at gmail.com in the browser of your Android or iOS device.
Update: 9:09am Pacific time 4/19/11 - This update is available for phones running Android or iOS, but not tablet devices with the two-pane Gmail UI. It is also now available for BlackBerry OS 6.0 phones.